1 min read

The Ryan Foundation establishes fellowship program at the University of Missouri - Department of Biochemistry

The Ryan Foundation pledged to donate $882,000 to the University of Missouri in June 2020.

The University of Missouri is a public research university in Columbia, Missouri. It is Missouri's largest university, and the flagship of the four campus University of Missouri System. Founded in 1839, it was the first public university west of the Mississippi River.

Dr. Ryan and Eileen’s commitment to higher education was evident in their gifts to various colleges and universities during their lifetimes. Their giving to institutions of higher education included organizations with ties to Dr. Ryan’s educational and professional career. The University of Missouri is where Dr. Ryan received his PhD in biochemistry in 1953. Dr. Ryan and the Ryan Foundation previously donated over $250,000 to the University of Missouri through various gifts from 2000-2015.

The Donation is intended to support the establishment of a Graduate Fellowship Program in Biochemistry to honor the late Dr. Wayne L. Ryan. Fellowships will be awarded to master’s level students that have demonstrated academic excellence, and a commitment to receiving a Doctorate degree in Biochemistry from the University of Missouri. The donation will provide full funding for eight PhD candidates in the biochemistry department over a three-year period beginning in 2020.

To learn more about the University of Missouri - Department of Biochemistry, please visit their website.